Thinking Beyond Guacamole / Avocado Smoothie Roundup

I remember the first time I tried avocado outside of what I had previously interpreted to be it’s comfort zone (guacamole, turkey sandwiches, eggs.. savory stuff). I picked out the avocado gelato at Capogiro, because I have to try everything that is “weeeeirddd” and Adam, of course, wanted chocolate. I’m a huge sharer when it comes to sweets so we split a cup with the two flavors, which worked together mind blowingly well. That little cup of gelato inspired this chocolate cake, topped off with Alton Brown’s avocado buttercream (no butter, all avocado; the healthiest frosting you will ever consume). I thought this was all very cutting edge and adventurous, however…

It has recently come to my attention, thanks to a Brazilian coworker, that in Brazil avocado is mostly consumed as a beverage, blended with milk and sweetened with sugar. Like all the time. Like every day. Like it’s not even all that weird! I mean.. WHAT. It is, after all, a fruit, so why DOES this seem so odd?

So, the other day, looking to add some creaminess, I threw an avocado in my blackberry & spinach smoothie. The results: Taste? Perfect. Consistency? Bingo. The color? Not great. Noted to self: next time, add some lime juice.

I’ve been LOVING on avocado and this or that fruit smoothies ever since.

Google avocado and smoothie and see what happens. Chocolate avocado, beet avocado, apple avocado, mango avocado… avocado smoothies for days! Apparently, everyone else is catching on to this as well and I’m a little late to the party.

It doesn’t surprise me though, the US has been consuming avocados like WHOA lately. According to the Fresh Fruit Portal:

A record-breaking quantity of Hass avocados were consumed in the United States last year, reaching over 1.5 billion pounds, the Hass Avocado Board reported…In 2013, the association anticipates even greater growth nationally for Hass avocados due to increased supply and promotions. The total volume is projected to growth by 10% for the year, reaching 1.65 billion pounds.

1.5 BILLION POUNDS OF AVOCADO. I mean, good for us. Avocado has a WEALTH of health benefits like healthy fats, vitamins, and minerals that make it one of the best fruits to consume.

So anyway, hey, I’m back. And while my first post in about 2 weeks isn’t exactly a recipe (sorry!) I am coming at you with a great suggestion. Put. an. avocado. in. your. next. smoothie. And, drink more smoothies. They’re good for ya.

Here are some that look delicious to me:

Avocado Kale

Avocado & Kale Smoothie from Kiran Turan

Beet Avocado

Beet & Avocado Smoothie from We Are Not Martha

Cherry Avocado

Cherry Avocado Smoothie from Nutrifit Living

Cherry Berry Beet Avocado

Cherry, Berry, Beet & Avocado Smoothie from Choosing Raw

Chocolate Avocado

Chocolate Avocado Smoothie (swoon!) from Texanarin

avocado-smoothie-646

Avocado Smoothie (with basil and lime juice!) from Bon Appetit

And lasty, no picture, but this Avocado Lime Ginger Smoothie sounds fantastic!

 

One thought on “Thinking Beyond Guacamole / Avocado Smoothie Roundup

  1. Whoah, avocado buttercream frosting? I’m behind the curve here, apparently, because I’d never heard of that and now I have to try it! But the color, the color.. both for frostings and sometimes for avocado in smoothies…. you have some attractive looking smoothies referenced here but I’ve made a couple pretty ugly avocado smoothies. I wonder what would happen if you put cocoa in that avocado frosting? It’s not easy being green.

Tell me how you really feel..

