Fennel Seed Spiced Snickerdoodles

Well hello!

Welcome to my brand new WordPress site. It’s pretty much the more mature  shiny version of my old site. And, look!, I’ve come to terms with my obsessive sweet tooth! But please don’t get too excited. I’m not out to make more desserts, per say. But you can read all about my goals and intentions for this blog here, in my manifesto. New city, new job, new blog.. someone please make this stop. Also, please keep in mind as you read about my healthy goals and intentions that I’m skipping the gym this afternoon because it’s RAINING. Baby steps peeps.

I’m really excited to be up and running hurr, but don’t be surprised if the format changes a bit in the next few days. I’m a little OCD. You can also comment all over this piece and let me know how much you love it. I’d be ok with that.

Anyway, if I were to make a list of things that are definitely good ideas, throwing some ground fennel seed into your snickerdoodles would totally be on it. Why? Because your snickerdoodles are famously boring. I mean, of course it’s butter and sugar, so it’s inherently good, but they’re just not anything I’ve ever really felt like I needed to eat. I’ve never really been a fan of butter cookies or shortbreads, etc either. I just always feel like they need a taste booster. The cinnamon just doesn’t quite do it for me.

Please believe me when I say I feel like Emeril as I’m telling you about this.

Because BAM!

Hehehe

These cookies are wonderfully soft. The fennel seed is subtle, but just enough to make them special, imho. And of course, if you’re a traditionalist, you can still taste your cinnamon sugar.

If you’re collecting a list of cookies for the holidays, I’d say these are a good one. They’re a traditional cookie with a slight flare.

Fennel Seed Spiced Snickerdoodles

Adapted from Betty Crocker

1 1/2 c sugar
1 c butter, softened
2 eggs
2 3/4 c ap flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp ground fennel seed
1/4 c sugar
2 tsp ground cinnamon

Heat oven to 400ºF.

Using an electric mixer, cream together 1 1/2 c sugar, butter and eggs in large bowl. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, salt and ground fennel seed. Add to the large bowl and beat until just combined.

Shape dough into 1 1/4-inch balls. Mix 1/4 cup sugar and the cinnamon. Roll balls in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet lined with parchment or silpats.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Cool 5 minutes on the cookie sheet and then finish cooling on a wire rack.


Tell me how you really feel..

