Raspberry Snowball Cookies

Most of the time, I hate being home alone for extended periods of time.

P1040730

Left to my own devices, I eat meals that comprise of leftovers or hummus rolled up in deli meat to avoid doing dishes. The chocolate chips take up residence on the coffee table. I talk out loud to myself or my dog (Jagger); I can’t decide which because I’m not sure whether the talking to myself is worse or the talking to Jagger is worse (when I talk to Jagger, I use the voice reserved for babies, small children and otherwise tiny things). Once it’s dark I can’t look in the mirror because of something I probably watched on Are You Afraid of the Dark as a kid and hide under the covers (or an afghan in my living room) like a child. Oh and the TV finds itself playing marathons of the Kardashians. Aaaand did I mention that I’m suddenly too lazy to do dishes?

Do you think I’m a total nut job yet? Success!

But sometimes, being alone can make a girl strangely motivated to clean her entire apartment and bake holiday cookies. Or watching Elf might do that.

Either way, I’ve got two great cookie recipes coming up and nothing that contains a vegetable (hummus rolled up in turkey?)! I’ll work on that this week…

First up…

These raspberry snowball cookies are a take on pecan puffs with a hint of raspberry. If you’ve never had a pecan puff before, they’re my favorite cookie that my mom bakes for Christmas and you’re missing out. On their own, the puffs are not super sweet. They have a more pastry like taste and are very crumbly, but the powdered sugar balances out the cookie perfectly. They’re filled out mostly by the pecans; there is no leavening agent in this cookie. They’re very simple to make and they are adorbs when you make little snowmen wearing yamakas with them.

Raspberry Snowball Cookies

Yield: ~30 cookies

Adapted from Joy of Cooking, Pecan Puffs

1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp raspberry extract
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 c pecans
1 c sifted ap flour
confectioner’s sugar to coat

Preheat the oven to 400°.

Grind pecans in a chopper or food processor until finely chopped.

In a large bowl, cream butter with an electric mixer until soft. Add sugar and beat until creamy and mixed through. Add vanilla and pecans. Stir in flour using a spatula.

Roll the dough into 1 1/2 in balls. Place balls on a greased or lined cookie sheet. They won’t spread, so you can place them fairly close together. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

While hot, roll cookies in confectioner’s sugar to coat.

P1040715P1040719P1040721P1040722

Tell me how you really feel..

