Slow Cooker Lentil Stew

Do you ever get home from work and feel like it’s SO LATE and like, you better wrap things up and just go ahead and get to sleep, and then realize it’s only 7:45? Me neither. But, thanks to winter, my concept of time is totally awry. I refuse to adjust. That’s like giving in. The sun will come back and I’ll be ready for it. I won’t turn my back on it.

P1040794

When I lived in Philly, I used to work 7-3:30 or 8-4:30. I used to have SO MUCH time after work to relax, plan dinner, be creative, make and eat amazing dinner, etc. I’m at work now until 6, take the bus home and am really lucky if I get to eat by 8. And sometimes a girls gotta go to the gym.

Anyone else?

So to keep from eating a diet solely based on stir fry and pasta, I’ve become really in love with my slow cooker. My slow cooker and I have slowly (is that a pun? if so, I intended it) formed an amazing relationship.

There is lit-er-ally NOTHING like coming home to an apartment, condo, house, trailer, shack, mansion or what have you that smells amazing. Granted, if you live in a mansion, I’m sure it smells amazing all the time, but let’s just focus on the stew at hand.

P1040800

Slow Cooker Lentil Stew

Serves 4

1 med onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 med sweet potato, diced
3-4 small carrots, diced
3-4 small parsnips, diced
1 -16 oz bag lentils
1 -15 oz can diced toms
1 tbsp ketchup
8 c vegetable or chicken stock
1 tsp cinamon
1 tsp aleppo pepper
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp thyme
2 bay leaves
2 tsp kosher salt

2-3 handfuls of spinach

Combine all ingredients except for the spinach in a slow cooker and stir to combine. Cook on low for 8 hours. Stir in spinach until cooked and serve!

Could that BE any easier?

P1040790 P1040787 P1040799

Tell me how you really feel..

