Italian Poultry Sausage & Farro Salad

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all rang in the new year in a way that was awesome and you feel good about!  I certainly feel that I did! I’ve been becoming quite the old person as of late and I’m going to be recovering from that one for a while. Sigh. I only lost a few things though, so… that’s positive!

P1030626

I am just returning from a week long break at work (actually our last day before break was 12/21, so it’s been a lot longer than that). I was so lucky to have the time off to visit family, play in the snow with a couple adorable nephews and see some good friends. I did an excessive amount of traveling, but it’s all been worth it.  Unfortunately my brain seems to think it’s still on vacay.

Anywho!

P1030620

This is a repeat post from my old site. As I mentioned before, I’ll be doing a few of these to make sure to preserve my favorite recipes… and this was definitely a favorite of mine! I also thought it would be fitting to post a recipe that includes farro, being that it’s such a healthy grain and all, poultry sausage and veggies to help you kick off any healthy resolutions you’ve made. Or to renew any that are still going strong from last year (power to you people).

Substitutions you can make for this: If leeks and red bell pepper are too expensive for your tastes, sub onions and green bells. Of course you can make this dish with pork sausage (I won’t tell the health food gods). You could sub out the farro (it is a little pricey as well) but I wouldn’t suggest doing that. It’s the star of this dish and packs a huge healthy punch!

Italian Poultry Sausage & Farro Salad
Serves 4-5

8 oz farro
1 tbsp EVOO
1 red bell pepper, chopped
3 leeks, chopped
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
3/4-1 lb of hot Italian poultry sausage, casing removed (~3 large sausages)
1 1/2 c diced fresh tomatoes or 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
1 can cannelloni beans, drained
1 small zucchini, julienned
2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
1 tbsp chopped fresh basil
1/4 c Pecorino Romano or Parmesan
salt & pepper

Cook farro according to package directions (mine took 35 minutes, so start this first).

In a large pan, heat EVOO over low heat. Add bell pepper, leeks and garlic. Saute over low for 10-15 minutes, or until leeks are softened. Remove to a bowl and set aside.

Wipe pan clean with a wet paper towel (careful!) and warm again over medium-low heat. Add sausage and brown, breaking apart with the side of your utensil and stirring frequently. Remove from heat once meat is thoroughly browned.

Combine in a large bowl the sauteed vegetables, Italian sausage, tomatoes, cannelloni beans, zucchini, parsley, basil and cheese. Toss together until combined. Add farro and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Serve warm.

P1030608 P1030611 P1030614 P1030616 P1030618

2 thoughts on “Italian Poultry Sausage & Farro Salad

Tell me how you really feel..

