Chicken, Feta and Tomato Cobbler

It’s already Wednesday guys!

In so many ways having a 3 day weekend is good for me. I took the extra day to relax, go for a run and watch Beyonce become to the leader of the free world (only to fall to impeachment due to a lip syncing scandal days later!!). I made granola, I watched a movie, rearranged some furniture… good GOD I was productive!

P1040961

But in some ways it’s not so good for me. I always feel like once I get back to work it’s hard to get in the swing of it all. I spend time procrastinating on the internetz (reading about the Bey impeachment of course). Watching the video for this song (thank god for earbudz). And then oh WOW it’s Wednesday and I haven’t really gotten much of anything accomplished at all except, oh I thought it was Monday all day yesterday. Oh and last night I left my apartment keys at the office, then proceeded to leave my wallet (needed to get on the bus to head to work) in my apartment this morning. This was me: “Um, help! I’m stuck.” How much coffee does a girl need to drink to live that one down? I’ll let you know. My brain is so not on point. Get it together up there!!!

Also, helloo.. I got like zero usable photos of this dish. Zero. Mehhhhhhh.

Um, anyway, if you’re having the sort of… “oops, I forgot to come back from my 3 day weekend” week that I am, you could use a quick dinner. Right? Because anything else might prompt a house fire.

This is easy. Très facile. And not pizza.. again. Sure it’s got a crust and cheese and tomatoes, but it’s upside down. Like this or putting your french fries on the cheese instead (why would you do that? IDK because you’re having the week that I am.)

Anyway, savory cobblers. I made this Tomato Cobbler from Joy the Baker this summer. It was wonderful. Tomatoes were at their peak. Biscuits are always good. I effing love caramelized onions. But I don’t have the fresh ingredients or the time available right now. Also, to make this a real dinner, we gotta get our protein in check. So, this is my version.

Chicken, Feta and Tomato Cobbler

Serves 2 (but will easily double for 4)

1/2 lb chicken tenders
1-14 oz can sliced stewed tomatoes
1/4 c dry white wine (Chardonnay)
1/4 c feta cheese crumbles
1 tbsp fresh (or 1 tsp dried) cilantro, coarsely chopped
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp garlic powder
salt and pepper
drop biscuit dough (I made recipe this twice. Once with Bisquick and once with homemade biscuits. Both were delicious. For the Bisquick preparation, just use the recipe on the box; this is obviously much faster and easier to clean up. For homemade, I used half of this recipe: Whole Wheat Biscuits. I usually find wheat biscuits too be too dry, but in this case they absorb a lot of liquid and end up being more like a dumpling anyway, so I figured why not.)

Preheat the oven to 425°. Lightly salt and pepper the chicken tenders.

In an 8″ square casserole dish, combine chicken, stewed tomatoes (with juices), white wine, feta, cilantro, basil and garlic powder. Toss to combine. Top with biscuit dough, dropping the dough in evenly sized clumps around the dish.

Bake for 13-15 minutes.

P1040955P1040956

2 thoughts on “Chicken, Feta and Tomato Cobbler

  1. I’m going bonkers over this! Chicken, wine, feta! In a casserole dish! Looks fantastic..I can practically smell it roasting in the oven!

Tell me how you really feel..

