Lavender & Pistachio Granola

20130128-105049.jpg

I’ve been slowly realizing that I could totally become a hermit. Obviously not the kind that lives in a cave with a beard (although beards only run about $3 on Amazon so that isn’t a totally impractical goal). Or the kind that is a crab and lives in a shell. But the kind that orders all her groceries from Peapod and buys just about everything else on Amazon (how do you think I found that beard?). The kind that works from home, only communicates via text and is getting paler every day from lack of sunshine (who am I kidding, I’m actually just getting paler anyway).
Err, wait actually does Peapod deliver beer?
Technology. Love it. I’m obsessed with my smart phone, my iPad, my camera, Kindle, and just about everything else with an on/off switch. I’m probably about 3 clicks away from signing all major life decisions over to an AI computer.
Here in DC this morning, we have a freezing rain problem. The roads are supposedly terrifying and my office is closed until noon (which makes it less of an actual problem and more of a convenient problem). I’m still wearing pajamas and I’ve stocked up on toilet paper, shampoo, and some nail polish other essentials. The Internet is a beautiful thing.
Not only that but it allows me to share and chronicle those things that I make in my kitchens that would otherwise be forgotten, but are probably too good to forget. Aaaand look, here’s one of those things now!
20130128-103733.jpg

Lavender and Pistachio Granola

3 tbsp agave
1 tbsp molasses
3 tbsp butter
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 c oats
1 tsp Ceylon cinnamon (could sub regular cinnamon, but the Ceylon variety has a much lighter, more citrusy taste)
1 tsp lavender
3/4 c chopped salted pistachios
1/2 c chopped walnuts
3/4 c coconut flakes
3/4 c raisins
Preheat oven to 300.
In a small saucepan over low heat, combine butter, molasses, agave and brown sugar, whisking often until butter is melted and sugar is dissolved.
Meanwhile, in a large bowl, stir together all other ingredients, except the raisins. Add butter and sweetener mixture and stir to coat.
Spread granola onto a lined cookie sheet in an even layer. Toast for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until granola is golden brown. Stir in raisins.
Granola will store in an airtight container for 2 weeks.

20130128-104916.jpg20130128-104929.jpg20130128-104935.jpg20130128-104943.jpg

4 thoughts on “Lavender & Pistachio Granola

  1. You bring the beards, I’ll bring the nail polish, we can hermit together! I can completely relate (although I do still love going to the grocery store) to the desire to work from home, spending time reading, blogging, etc. It can be so cozy to slip away from the world, especially when there’s freezing rain outside!

    I love this! I just made granola over the weekend, which turned out tasty but I wish I had seen your post ahead of time because I have lavender buds sitting in my pantry, which I could have thrown in with the granola! Love pistachios and I bet this granola turned out great!

    • Bahaha yea. We’ll need fuzzy socks and a delicious parsnip gratin too!

      Thanks! Throw it in next time! It’s kind of strong before the granola bakes, but afterwards it’s just a nice hint of delicious. πŸ™‚

  2. You know, if I lived somewhere that wasn’t a city, I’d probably be very, very tempted to become a hermit. I’d just buy books off Amazon and read and drink tea all day.
    The granola sounds delicious. Lavender’s pretty original in granola. I’ve had rose granola, but I really want to try lavender now.

    • Totally! Being in a city, the good food and music are really the only reasons I ever actually want to leave my couch!

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ And I’ve never had rose in granola! I’ll have to look into that.

Tell me how you really feel..

