Spicy Hungarian Goulash

First: A disclaimer. This is a traditional Hungarian stew, adapted slightly to my tastes and impulse to add veggies to everything I eat. It’s not really original and I wouldn’t have shared it if I didn’t REALLY feel like I needed to tell you about this ahhhmazing hot sauce. Well, it’s not so much hot sauce, but hot paprika. And it rules. I actually did some reading about it (and by that I mean I looked it up on Wikipedia). And learned that ALL paprika used to be spicy. Weird, because as far as I know Hungary and Amazon.com are the only places where paprika is still spicy and… while I like the sweet stuff I don’t think it should replace the hot variety entirely, because you HAVE to taste this stuff. Especially since I think it’s the best thing I’ve covered my pasta in since sliced bread. Err..

Anyway, behold people: The Spicy Hungarian Goulash.

P1050017

Doesn’t it look cozy next to that beer magazine? Ugh, what I wouldn’t give for some stew and a nice hearty beer right now. Why can’t life be a beer hall? I’m not sure.

P1050019

Also that bread? It’s the Marco Polo loaf from Wegman’s… and it contains crack. I’m sure of it.

P1050026

 

Crack bread plus stew plus beer. Swoon.

Spicy Hungarian Goulash

Serves 4

1 tbsp Hungarian sweet paprika
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
2 tbsp EVOO
1 onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1-1/2 lbss beef stew meat, cut into 1 1/2 in cubes
1/4 c red wine (I used Malbec, but I’m sure that’s not traditional)
1-15 oz can diced tomatoes
3/4 c chicken or beef stock
1/2-1 tbsp Eros Pista hot paprika (it’s hot; so be sure to taste a bit first and adjust for your spice preferences!)
2-3 carrots, peeled and grated
salt and pepper, to taste
sour cream (or greek yogurt) and delicous bread to serve

In a medium bowl, combine paprika, 2 teaspoons salt and pepper. Coat beef cubes in spice mixture and set aside.

Heat oil in a large pot or Dutch oven over medium heat. Cook onions and garlic in oil until onions are soft, stirring frequently. Remove onions and set aside.

Turn up the heat to warm the oil again. Add the beef, searing on all sides until browned. Add the wine and use to deglaze the pan, stirring quickly.

Return the onions to the pot and add the diced tomatoes, stock, carrots and hot paprika. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, 1 1/2 hours. Remove the lid and simmer another 1/2 hour to reduce the liquid.

Serve hot with sour cream and bread.

P1040991 P1040992 P1040993 P1040998

One thought on “Spicy Hungarian Goulash

  1. No way! I can’t tell you how happy I am to see this recipe! I’ve had goulash only once way back in college…my friend’s mom made it and I’ve never looked up a recipe for it even though I enjoyed it so much. I’m going to goulash my face off now, this is exciting! I’ll have my goulash atop a beer magazine, too 🙂

Tell me how you really feel..

