Red Velvet Ice Cream with Cream Cheese Frosting Swirl

Uh, yea.

Hi! Happy Friday and… well.. welcome to my ice cream blog. Because that’s what this is about to devolve into if I don’t do something soon.

P1050034

But seriously.

I’m not even allowed to make any more ice cream this weekend. I’ve had an ice cream maker not even a full 2 weeks, and I’ve already made 3 flavors. Which means I’ve eaten 3 flavors. Which means, I need to chill with that (pun intended).

I just… can’t stop. won’t stop. 

P1050029

But seriously now. Would you want to?

Yea. That’s what I thought.

P1050037

I think I might be addicted to ice cream like I am online shopping. Also something I can’t stop. won’t stop. Dear Deal News: you’re slowly destroying my bank account.

Friday is my favorite day of the week because I can spend the day planning all the treats I want to treat myself with this weekend without feeling like I spend too much time planning all the treats I want to make this weekend (trying this on a Monday, however, might just destroy your soul). Don’t worry I’ll share them with people I love (this means you.) I’m currently feeling THIS. and this. and these. and this (omg brown butter makes me drool). It’s honestly a shame that we have to eat real food sometimes. Honestly.

Do you have any big baking plans for the weekend? Do you have any big plans that don’t involve baking, because… helloooo you have a life? Tell me about them please.P1050040

Red Velvet Ice Cream with Cream Cheese Frosting Swirl

Adapted from Food.com
Yield: 1 quart
Active time: 20 minutes
“Cook” time: 25 minutes (depending on your ice cream maker)

For the ice cream base:
1 c whole milk, well chilled
3/4 c granulated sugar
2 c heavy cream, well chilled
1 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 c red velvet cake mix

For the cream cheese frosting:
4 oz cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 c powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla

To make the ice cream base:

Using an electric beater or whisk, beat the 3/4 c sugar into the whole milk, until dissolved. Whisk in the vanilla and heavy cream. Add the cake mix and whisk until thoroughly dissolved, making sure there are no (or minimal) lumps.

Pour mixture into your ice cream maker and process according to the maker’s instructions.

Meanwhile…

To make the frosting swirl:

Beat the cream cheese with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Slowly add the 1 1/2 c sugar until completely incorporated into the cream cheese. Add the 1/2 tsp vanilla and beat for 3-4 minutes, until light and fluffy.

After ice cream is processed, working quickly, transfer to an airtight container using the following process: move a scoop of ice cream to the container, add a tablespoon of frosting and swirl around, move another scoop of ice cream, add more frosting and swirl. Repeat this process until all ice cream is transferred to the container.

Freeze for an additional 2 hours before serving to allow the ice cream to set.

PS I also added M&M’s to mine. But I just can’t leave well enough alone.

10 thoughts on “Red Velvet Ice Cream with Cream Cheese Frosting Swirl

  1. I need to make my own ice cream now. 🙂 Red velvet flavor is right up my alley. I just discovered how much I love it! The addition of M&Ms sounds like the perfect finishing touch too!

Tell me how you really feel..

