Orange Coriander Hot Fudge Sauce

Remember that time I told you I was swearing off ice cream for a while? Yea. I lied.

20130221-075136.jpg

While I haven’t made any new ice cream, I had a cinnamon ice cream in the freezer that I just thought was lacking something.. chocolate. And in an effort to waste not, want not, I had to make this hot fudge.

20130221-075123.jpg

Sometimes food blogging makes me do things. It makes me stay home on weekends to create recipes, which isn’t always desirable. It makes me stare at a computer for long hours after my real job is over. It makes me constantly obsess over new recipes, other recipes and other food blogs (ok, I did that anyway). It makes me do things like buy one single sale placemat at West Elm. It makes me use italics excessively.

20130221-075231.jpg

But when it makes me say things like.. I had to make this hot fudge. Yea. That’s when I appreciate this food blog the most.

20130221-075206.jpg

Orange Coriander Hot Fudge Sauce

Adapted from My Baking Addiction
Yield: 2 cups
Active Time: 10 minutes Total Time: 15 minutes

2/3 c heavy cream
1/2 c light corn syrup
1/3 c packed dark brown sugar
1/4 c unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
6 oz 65% cacao chocolate, finely chopped
2 tbsp unsalted butter
3/4 tsp orange extract
1/2 tsp ground coriander

Whisk together cream, corn syrup, brown sugar, cocoa, salt and half of the chocolate in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Bring the mixture to a boil, whisking constantly (taking care to hit the bottom of the pan) until chocolate is melted.

Reduce the heat and cook at a low boil, stirring occasionally (and scraping the bottom and sides), for 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and add butter, orange extract, coriander and remaining chocolate. Stir until smooth. Allow the sauce to cool down before serving or storing.

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for 1 week.

20130221-082849.jpg 20130221-075259.jpg20130221-075319.jpg

One thought on “Orange Coriander Hot Fudge Sauce

  1. My sentiments exactly…about everything you said. I don’t work Fridays, which means I typically cook and blog most of the day. It’s fun but I definitely need to spend time outdoors after a day in the kitchen! 🙂 Your hot fudge sauce looks amazing! So creative mixing orange and coriander. ON TOP OF Cinnamon ice cream? Genius!

Tell me how you really feel..

