Teriyaki Tilapia with Fresh Kumquat Salsa

P1050254

First of all, I just want you all to know that I sacrificed my life for this salsa:

P1050229

I mean that! I totally sliced off a small piece of my thumb, threw it in the trash, and kept calm and carried on. Obviously I’m going to spare you the details, because my goal here is to make you want to eat this and not cringe and lose your appetite, but yea that happened. It was a thing that occurred last week.

I wish I could blame my blogging absence this week on it, but that would be a huge lie. Actually, what happened is I forgot my memory stick in my camera when I left the apartment EVERY. DAY. Yikes. #earlyonsetalzheimers anyone?

P1050256

I also want to let you know, that while I loved every minute of this salsa, I think the tartness overwhelmed the fish for SOME people that I live with. If you find it tart, go light on what you add to your fish. Don’t overload the plate like I did. The fish will cut the tartness of course, but not if your plate equation is 5xfish = salsa. You could also cut smaller pieces of kumquat, this will more evenly distribute the other ingredients that do cut the tartness a bit. But honestly, I loved this recipe. It’s sooooo easy. Healthy. Tasty. Do it.

It was totally worth the tip of my thumb.

Teriyaki Tilapia with Fresh Kumquat Salsa

Yield: 2 servings (easily duplicated)
Active Time: 5 minutes
Total Time: 15-20 minutes

2 (4-6 oz) Tilapia fillets
1/4 c teriyaki sauce (I used Soy Vay, but I also make my own from time to time and I like great recipe)
Fresh Kumquat Salsa, to taste (recipe follows)

Preheat the oven to 375°.

Coat a cast iron pan with cooking spray or butter.

Rinse fish and pat dry; place on the cast iron pan. Coat with teriyaki sauce. Bake for 8-12 minutes, or until the fish flakes when tested with a fork.

Top with Fresh Kumquat Salsa and serve.

Fresh Kumquat Salsa

Recipe from Simply Recipes

Yield: 2 1/2 c salsa
Total time: 1 hr, 10 mins
Active time: 10 mins

2 c chopped cleaned and thinly sliced kumquats
1/2 c chopped red onion
1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro
3 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Dash of cayenne pepper
Pinch of kosher salt

Combine all ingredients. Add more or less red pepper and cayenne to desired heat. Let sit for 1 hour for the flavors to more fully blend.

P1050227 P1050228 P1050229 P1050246

Tell me how you really feel..

