Shaved Asparagus and Gruyere Salad

First of all… shaved asparagus. Hehe. I love to give my veggies a haircut.

P1050244

Second.. This little salad dresses up a dinner in a big way. It sounds fancy. It looks fancy. It drinks tea with it’s pinky in the air. It’s the accessory that kicks your little sundress up a notch for a night on the town (I think saying things like “night on the town” automatically make me uncool; I should probably stop that.). It’s the little umbrella that makes your pina colada caaaute. It’s the cucumber slices that make your water sing. You get it.

P1050240

I’ve said this before. I know that you don’t need a recipe to make yourself a salad. I’m sure you’re just as good as I am at chopping up a few snap peas, peppers, tomatoes, carrots, etc, tossing it with balsamic and digging on it for lunch. But sometimes you need something a little extra. Sometimes I do! I never would have thought to shave my asparagus if it weren’t for the mention of this salad in Bon Appetit mag this month. And if, at any point this spring, you’re planning a homemade romantic dinner date, a dinner with a friend you haven’t seen in a while, or even just a TGIF dinner with the person whose face you look at every morning and every night before you go to sleep (This could be your face or someone else’s; I’m sure it’s a nice face), this first course will impress, with minimal effort on your part. It’s the perk of a seasonal, fresh restaurant menu, without the heels or the tie or the bill.

Would you like some fresh cracked pepper on your salad?

P1050245

Shaved Asparagus and Gruyere Salad

Yield: 2 servings (easily double for 4)
Active Time: 5 minutes
Total Time: 5 minutes

5-7 stalks of asparagus
1-2 tsp fresh lemon juice
1-2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
pinch of salt
fresh cracked black pepper
~1 oz gruyere cheese

Wash asparagus, cut off the ends and use a vegetable peeler to shave thin strips by holding the end and peeling down to the head. (I found the easiest way for me to do this is to peel twice on a side, then rotate the stalk, etc.) Place the shaves in a medium bowl. Toss with a  pinch of salt and lemon juice and olive oil to taste.

Divide the asparagus shavings between two plates. Grate Gruyere using the vegetable peeler to create long thin shavings and place on top of the asparagus. Grind fresh pepper over the salads and serve.P1050238

2 thoughts on “Shaved Asparagus and Gruyere Salad

Tell me how you really feel..

