Balsamic Chicken with Strawberry Rhubarb Compote

Um, can someone please help a girl out?

P1050329

I’m looking for a place at which I can acquire an attention span? Where do I get that? Craigslist? Amazon? Is there a black market for this? Somewhere I can also acquire a new liver as well? One stop shopping? Hey, I went to college (aka I was drunk for 4 years) and I’m just planning ahead here.

I mean, ok. I guess it’s not that I don’t have one exactly (…omg check out these TIGHTS!). It’s just that it doesn’t work anymore. It’s broken. Oooh! Maybe I can exchange my old one. Maybe it was defective. I hope the warranty is at least 30 years, otherwise, phoof.

P1050322

Hey! THIS CHICKEN MAN! It’s um, delicious. Rhubarb is like, SO IN RIGHT NOW. It’s so on trend. Actually, that’s not even funny, because in 2013 there ARE food trends. That’s a thing now (ahem, cauliflower pizza crust, ahem, smoothies). Dear blogging world, I am sorry I claimed to be on trend. I’m so not. It’s 2013 and I’m still wearing my mom jeans and poodle hair from the late ’80’s. Ugh.

SEE WHAT I MEAN!!! Every time I try to talk about this chicken, my brain fragments. But please, don’t let me talk you into thinking it wasn’t tasty, easy and totally worthwhile. Fancy pants chicken with it’s fancy pants compote. I think it’s just outta my league.

P1050325

Balsamic Chicken with Strawberry Rhubarb Compote

Yield: 2-4 (depending, see below) servings
Total Time: 1 hr 30 minutes
Active Time: 30 minutes

For the chicken:
1/4 c balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp EVOO
1 tbsp sugar
salt & pepper
2-4 chicken breasts, pounded to about 1/2″

For the compote:
1 stalk rhubarb
1 tbsp sugar
1/8 tsp chili powder
1/8 tsp garlic powder
pinch salt
1/4 c water
1/2 tsp lemon juice
3/4 c strawberries, chopped

In a medium bowl, whisk together balsamic vinegar, EVOO, salt, pepper, and 1 tbsp sugar. Add the chicken and turn to coat. Cover and refrigerate to marinate for at least 1 hour, turning occasionally.

In a small saucepan, add rhubarb, 1 tbsp sugar, chili powder, garlic powder, water and a pinch of salt and stir to combine. Turn the heat to medium, bring to a boil and cook for about 3 minutes, or until rhubarb is soft. Transfer to a small bowl or container. Stir in lemon juice and strawberries and cover. Allow the flavors to combine for about 1 hour.

After the chicken has marinated, heat a grill pan (or, if you’re lucky enough to have one, a charcoal or gas grill) over medium-high heat. Cook chicken for about 5-10 minutes on each side, or until cooked through.

Plate each piece, top with compote and serve. I think this would go beautifully with steamed asparagus OR asparagus disguised as a crunchy green salad.

P1050309P1050310 P1050311 P1050312 P1050313

One thought on “Balsamic Chicken with Strawberry Rhubarb Compote

  1. Let me know when you figure out where to get an attention span because I need one too. I hate to say it, but I think using the computer a lot makes it worse…I go from looking at blogs to pinterest to reading the news and before I know it, I’ve gotten nothing done 😉 Your chicken looks fantastic and I’ve never made anything with rhubarb so I’m excited to try it out!

Tell me how you really feel..

