Salsa Hummus

P1050338

I love hummus (and LOOK I’m not alone). I could eat it all the time. I could spread it on all my sandwiches. I could roll it up in all the slices of deli turkey in my fridge. I could dip crackers, pita, whatever in it all day long. Some people are obsessed with avocado (and for good reason); I die for hummus.

P1050342

I like to play with my hummus though. I mean sure I love a good garlic, tahini or Greek, but mixing it up is the name of my game. I LOVE this caramalized onion hummus. I love to throw kalamata olives into my hummus. My faaayyvorite hummus to pick up in the dairy aisle is Sabra’s Chipotle Hummus. Chipotle hummus!? That’s like… Mexican food and hummus. Huh?

P1050345

So as I made my routine hummus last week, I decided to change it up a bit and toss in some salsa. Because I figured why not. I’m a dip, you’re a dip… And it’s a huge winner. Whatdya know. Insert obligatory line about America the melting pot here.

P1050346

Salsa Hummus

Yield: about 1 1/2 c
Total Time: 15 mins
Active Time: 10 mins

1-15oz can chickpeas
1 clove garlic
2 tbsp well-stirred tahini
juice of 1/2 lemon
2 tbsp hot salsa
1/4 tsp cumin
Olive oil

In a food processor, combine all ingredients except the olive oil. Run the processor on low until a paste-like consistency is formed. Add olive oil with the processor running, just until the consistency of the hummus has smoothed out. Continue to process until the hummus is smooth and creamy, about 5 minutes. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate.

To serve: create a well in the center of the hummus. Fill with salsa and top with feta cheese.

P1050330P1050331 P1050332

Tell me how you really feel..

